The Ottawa Hospital and Hôpital Montfort

Joint Pharmacy Residency
501 Smyth Road
Ottawa, ON, K1H 8L6

Director Pharmacy & Residency:
Dr. Alexander Kuo, BScPharm, PharmD, ACPR
Phone: 613-737-8899 x 72278
Fax: 613-737-8891

Residency Coordinators:

The Ottawa Hospital Civic campus contact:
Dr. Erika MacDonald, PharmD, ACPR, MSc
Phone: 613-737-8899 ext.16154

The Ottawa Hospital General campus contact:
Dania Burton, BScPhm, ACPR
Phone: 613-737-8899 ext. 72271

Hôpital Montfort contact: 
Caitlin Richler, BScH, PharmD, ACPR
Phone: 613-746-4621 ext 4711



Type: General

Established in: 1972

Number of positions: 4 (TOH) + 2 (Montfort)

App deadline: October 14, 2022

Starting date: September 2023

Estimated Stipend: $40,000 per year

PRAMS - (Additional PRAMS requirements to complete the Pharmacy Residency Application and Matching Service (PRAMS) application should be sent through PRAMS when applying by the application deadline):

  1. Resume/curriculum vitae (for both The Ottawa Hospital and Hôpital Montfort)
  2. For Hôpital Montfort position ONLY:
    a) You are required to have a functional ability to understand and speak French.

    b) Please describe in French your experience and ability to work in a Francophone environment (150 words). Vous devez avoir une capacité fonctionnelle à  comprendre et à parler français. Veuillez décrire en Français votre expérience et habileté à travailler en milieu francophone (150 mots).

Vacation/holiday leave: 2 weeks + 5 "flex days"

Education/conference leave: 1 week

Program highlights: Program is designed to provide basics of hospital pharmacy practice with patient orientation.  Major emphasis is placed on services particular to hospital: Clinical Pharmacy, Drug Information, Clinical Pharmacokinetics, Clinical Toxicology. Program exposes the resident to all varieties of drug problems: therapeutic, pharmaceutic, administrative and toxicological. The resident is continually confronted with problem situations and expected to respond and assist in their resolution. Effective communication of therapeutic drug knowledge in the clinical setting is a major emphasis.

Required Rotations:

  • General Medicine (5 + 2 weeks for "capstone rotation")
  • Intensive Care Unit (4 weeks)
  • Infectious Diseases/Antimicrobial Stewardship (4 weeks)
  • Hematology/Oncology (4 weeks)
  • Cardiology or Nephrology (4 weeks)
  • Drug Distribution (3 weeks)
  • Drug Information (2 weeks)
  • Teaching/Preceptorship Rotation (5 weeks)*
  • Selective/elective rotations (2 x 4 weeks)
  • Clinical orientation (3 weeks)
  • Project (8 weeks)
  • Administration (1 week)

*The Teaching/Preceptorship Rotation takes place during one clinical rotation that is extended from 4 weeks to 5 weeks. The pharmacy resident will be precepting a pharmacy student during this rotation.

The Montfort resident will ideally spend 32 weeks of the program at the Hôpital Montfort, and the balance of their weeks at either campus of TOH. The Hôpital Montfort resident is required to have a functional ability to understand and speak French. 

Minimum required credentials: Eligible for licensure within Canada




  • The Ottawa Hospital campuses: Tertiary care, teaching hospital 
  • Montfort: acute primary and secondary care, teaching hospital

Number of beds (approximate): TOH: >1100 and Montfort: 290

Sites: TOH General Campus, Civic Campus, Heart Institute, and Hôpital Montfort

Affiliation: University of Toronto (for residency program), University of Ottawa





Carolanne Caron 
Letissia Fadel 
Helen Huynh
Alexandra (Sasha) Goldstein 
Debanjali Purkayastha
Hannah Saunders



Sydney Morin
Mikaela Ney
Sophie Peltekian
Sarah Spec
Chandni Sehgal



Samuel Dubinsky
Deep Patel
Onella Pereira
Samantha Perez
Marie-Claire Savoie



Michelle Boyce
Ryan Marko
Lauren (Ellie) Salsbury
Pierre Thabet
Melissa Cammuso



Jacky Cheung
Kavetha Selvathilagan
Xiang Wang
Jason Yung
Erica MacLean



Ellen Dawson
Silvija Mihajlovic
Andrew Osinga
Priya Patel



Ara Cho
Sarah Drost
Alicia Forest
Stephanie Gautron
Christine Trieu