Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre - Y1 General Pharmacy Residency Program

2075 Bayview Avenue
Toronto, ON, M4N 3M5

Dr. Danette Beechinor, BSc Pharm, Pharm D, CHPE, CD
Director of Pharmacy; Co-Director of Precision Diagnostics and Therapeutics
Phone: 416-480-4494
Fax: 416-480-5887
Mobile: 437-224-1184

Dr. Mark Pasetka, BSc, BSc Pharm, Pharm D, CES, RPh
Oncology Pharmacy Clinical Practice Lead
Pharmacy Residency Coordinator (Year 1) - Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Adjunct Assistant Professor - University of Waterloo School of Pharmacy
Phone: 416-480-6100 ext. 83692


Type: General 

Focus: There is no particular practice focus; however, the program can be tailored to meet the needs of the individual resident, depending on their area(s) of interest.

Established In: 1973

Number of Positions: 3

Application Deadline: Please refer to PRAMS

Start Date: September 2, 2025

PRAMS - (Additional PRAMS requirements to complete the Pharmacy Residency Application and Matching Service (PRAMS) application should be sent through PRAMS when applying by the application deadline):

The program at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre does require a cover letter (maximum 250 words) to be submitted as part of the application package.

Estimated Stipend: $45,000

Benefits Included: Medical, dental

Vacation/Holiday Leave: 10 days

Education/Conference Leave: 5 days

Program highlights: The Pharmacy Practice Residency Program at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre is a one-year post-baccalaureate training program focusing on the contemporary clinical practice of hospital pharmacy.  Emphasis is given to areas for which the Department has considerable resource and expertise, such as provision of pharmaceutical care, drug information and administration.  As well, the residents will be exposed to a spectrum of contemporary hospital pharmacy services (e.g., clinical research, education, and ambulatory practice clinics).

Residents are involved in the educational activities of the Department during their program.  Attendance at inter- and intra-departmental meetings, seminar presentations, preparation of drug information newsletters and discussions at clinical and administrative journal clubs are designed to enhance the resident's knowledge of institutional practice and increase one's ability to communicate clinical practice information, both verbally and in written format.  An opportunity is provided to attend educational programs outside the hospital (e.g., OB CSHP Annual General Meeting, CSHP Professional Practice Conference, etc.) and other continuing education programs offered in the Toronto area.

Core/Required Rotations: 


  • Teaching and Learning
  • Drug Information
  • Administration
  • Research/Project
  • Distribution


  • Elective Clinical Rotations (five)
  • General Internal Medicine (mandatory final rotation)

Elective Rotations

  • Neonatal ICU
  • Cardiology
  • Nephrology (Ambulatory, Inpatient)
  • Oncology (Ambulatory, Inpatient)
  • Complex Malignant Haematology* (Ambulatory, Inpatient)
  • Critical Care (ICU)
  • General Internal Medicine
  • Antimicrobial Stewardship
  • Infectious Diseases**
  • Psychiatry (Inpatient)
  • Geriatrics/Palliative Care
  • Ambulatory Patient Care Clinics (e.g., Family health team, ambulatory acute care clinic)

*Prerequisite required; **Antimicrobial Stewardship is required as a prerequisite

Required Credentials:  Must be a graduate of a school of pharmacy in which the curriculum meets the standards established by the Association of Faculties of Pharmacy of Canada or have completed the Canadian PEBC exams and eligible for licensing as a Part A pharmacist in Ontario.

Residents must be licensed as a pharmacist at the earliest possible opportunity during their program and must be licensed prior to awarding a residency certificate.

Acceptance into the program by the Hospital Pharmacy Residency Forum of Ontario on recommendation by the CPRB PRAMS.



Type: Academic Hospital

Number of Beds: 1200+

Sites: Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre - Bayview Campus possibly others depending on clinical rotations.

Affiliation: University of Toronto




Jenna-Rose Melanson
Camille Angle

2021-2022 Denielle Mara
Shreeya Thakrar


Daniela Fernandes
Linda (Xuan) Li


Siamak Badie
Danielle Porter


Melika Bozorgi Kiasaraei
Stephanie Rankin


Erin Bezzina
Vivian Bui


Nathan Ma
Jacqueline Brunton


Gloria Lau
Michael Wan

2014-2015 Alexandra Cooper
Melanie Cormier
2013-2014 Heather Bannerman
Monique Potvin
2012-2013 Julia Maslikowska
Francine Kwee
2011-2012 Julianne Kim
Kaila MacMillan
2010-2011 Laura Schultz
Diane Vella
2009-2010 Jennifer Do
Lesley Palmay
2008-2009 Marion Visser
Heather Moon
2007-2008 Francesca Le Piane
Lindsay van de Vijsel
2006-2007 Laura Tsang
Emily Ng
2005-2006 Lisa Zhu
Ravinder Minhas
2004-2005 Romina Marchesano
Jennifer Korman
2003-2004 Ami Kamdar
2002-2003 Samantha Yau
George Banman
2001-2002 Stephanie Ong
Sharon Yeung
1999-2000 Jennifer Drynan
1998-1999 Marisa Battistella
Natalie Schinners
1997-1998 Ann Tran
Garth Yelland
1996-1997 Katherine Nabzdyk
Angie Wong
1995-1996 Anne Nguyen
Angie Giotis
1994-1995 Sayeh Radpay
Tracey Lawson
1993-1994 Bill Perks
Mary Helen Keane
1992-1993 Taffik Choudhury
Chris Usaty
1991-1992 Todd Spencer
Nancy Fritsch
1990-1991 Debbie Kwan
Pina Morra
1989-1990 Carrie Fung
Benita Birkhans
1988-1989 Dave Gardiner
Fran Paradiso
1987-1988 Patti Madorin
Beth Geisberger
1986-1987 Sandra Lynch
Barb Gobis
Toni Karsikas
1985-1986 Diane Hindman
Sandra Knowles
Sharon Yamashita
John Dorsey
1984-1985 Camille Lemieux
Vida Stankus
Mary Vecchio
1983-1984 Cindy Girvan
Lynne Levesque
Jana Lazor
1982-1983 Leanne Krekorian
Judy Carter
Lee Dupuis
1981-1982 Carlo DeAngelis
Joanne Willoughby
1980-1981 Patti White
Teresa Fabian
1979-1980 Brian Hardy
Susan Fockler
1978-1979 David Edwards
Andrea Broostad
1977-1978 Scott Walker
1976-1977 Karen Adamson
Lauren (Flay) Charbonneau
1975-1976 William Cornish
Elizabeth Crichton
Velnis Muizniek
1974-1975 Donald Frazer
Pearl Isaac
1973-1974 Edward Winkle
Vera Smith