Alberta Health Services (Central Zone)

Red Deer Regional Hospital Centre
3942 50A Avenue
Red Deer, AB, T4N 4E7

Dr. Tania Mysak, BSP, PharmD
Director, Practice, AHS Pharmacy Services
Phone:  780-735-0770

Frances Folkman, BScPharm, ACPR
Clinical Practice Leader
Phone: 403-521-3365

Steven Freriks, BSP
Clinical Practice Leader


Type: General
Focus: Community Hospital Practice
Established in: 1982
# Positions: 2
App. deadline: October 14, 2021 - 5:00 p.m. EST
Starting date: July 4, 2022 (not flexible)
PRAMS: No additional requirements to complete the Alberta Health Services, Central Zone Pharmacy Residency Application and Matching Service (PRAMS) application
Est. stipend: Approximately $50, 000 per annum
Benefits: Yes
Vacation: 10 paid days
Education/Conference Leave: Time provided to support residents to attend conferences

Program highlights: The Alberta Health Services Central Zone Resident will be exposed to a dynamic community hospital environment in Central Alberta. The residency program is an experiential education program that develops proactive, accountable and responsible pharmacist practitioners and leaders. Emphasis will be placed on patient care, personal practice and leadership skill development and the individual learning needs of the Resident.The Resident will provide direct patient care and play an active role on the inter-disciplinary health care teams through the mentorship of role model clinical practitioners. As this is a regional program, rotations may be offered in multiple hospital sites, with the majority occurring at the Red Deer Regional Hospital Centre.

Rotations: Residents will broaden their exposure to pharmacy practice and patient care skills through five core direct patient care experiences including: general medicine, cardiology, critical care, infectious diseases, and ambulatory care. These required clinical experiences can be met through a variety of rotations and electives (each 4-6 weeks in duration). The resident will also complete an elective patient care rotation. Clinical rotations will be selected in conjunction with the Resident based on their identified learning needs and interests. Inpatient rotations available at the Red Deer Regional Hospital Centre include: general medicine, intensive care, cardiac critical care, cardiology, emergency medicine, palliative care, nephrology, general surgery, neurology, pediatrics, and psychiatry. The Red Deer Regional Hospital Centre also provides ambulatory experiences in oncology, heart failure, anticoagulation management, and stroke prevention. Additionally, off-site elective rotations are available: psychiatry at the Centennial Centre for Mental Health and Brain Injury and rural pharmacy practice at rural facilities throughout the zone. Other external rotations may also be arranged, if requested by the Resident.

Other required rotations include drug information, medication use systems (distribution), precepting and practice management and leadership. Note: The resident is not expected to perform dispensary coverage outside of  the residency program. 

Other features: A research project will be completed throughout the course of the year over a total of 10 weeks. Support and guidance will be provided by a Project Preceptor, a Research Advisor and a series of seminars and workshops. Case presentations, journal clubs, in-services and additional scholarly writing opportunities will also be provided.

Minimum required credentials: Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy (or equivalent). Registration as a Pharmacy Intern with the Alberta College of Pharmacists prior to beginning the program and achievement of registration as a Pharmacist with the Alberta College of Pharmacists within 6 months of beginning the program. Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists membership is required. Experience in a hospital setting is an asset, but not required.



Type: Regional, community hospital
Number of beds: 390 acute care beds and 40 mental health beds
Site: Red Deer Regional Hospital Centre



Jessalyn Clarkson
Alexi Yuzwenko

Cameron Black
Nils Moser

Erica McGinn
Lisa (Xiao Ying) Zhou

Lisa McIntosh
Sabrina Lorico

Alexandra Bartman
Priya Samuel

Daniel Leung
Vincent Spurrell

Jessica Killen
Ben Nilsson

Jacey Jones
Bryan Velthuizen

Joshua Torrance

Kelsey Isfan

Sarah Hasenbank