Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre - General Program - Year 1

2075 Bayview Avenue
Toronto, ON, M4N 3M5

Danette Beechinor, BSc Pharm, Pharm D, CHPE, CD
Director of Pharmacy
Phone: 416-480-4494
Fax: 416-480-5887

Mark Pasetka, BSc Pharm, Pharm D, RPh
Clinical Practice Leader - Oncology Pharmacy
Phone: 416-480-6100 ext. 83692


Type: General Pharmacy (Year 1) Residency

Focus: General Hospital Practice-based

Established in: 1973

# Positions: 2

App. deadline: October 14, 2022

Start Date: September

PRAMS - (Additional PRAMS requirements to complete the Pharmacy Residency Application and Matching Service (PRAMS) application should be sent through PRAMS when applying by the application deadline):

  • A site-specific cover letter (250 words max) is to be sent to Dr. Danette Beechinor (Residency Director) and Dr. Mark Pasetka (Residency Coordinator), c/o: Pharmacy Administration: Jeffrey Steer) indicating why you would like to do a residency at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre and why you have chosen the specific program (Ambulatory or General Residency). You may apply to either the Sunnybrook Ambulatory Care Residency Program or General Residency Program, but not both.

Minimum required credentials: Eligible for licensure in Ontario and undergraduate training in pharmaceutical care.

Estimated stipend: Approximately $30,000 per annum

Benefits: 8%

Vacation/holiday leave: 2 weeks

Education/conference leave: 1 week

Program highlights: A General Pharmacy Residency is designed to assist practitioners in the development of advanced clinical skills in pharmaceutical care.  In addition, the program creates the opportunity for the residents to provide evidence-based direct patient care as a member of the interprofessional teams. The resident will develop and demonstrate fundamental teaching and leadership skills.

Core Rotations: 

  • General Hospital Orientation: 1 week
  • Distribution: 1 week (depending on prior experience at Sunnybrook)

Elective Rotations
Clinical Rotations (5 elective rotations of 5 weeks duration each)

  • Ambulatory Clinics (Family Health Teams)
  • Antimicrobial Stewardship
  • Cardiovascular Diseases
  • Critical Care
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Falls Prevention Program (St. John’s Rehabilitation Hospital)
  • Geriatric Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases (Prerequisite: Antimicrobial Stewardship)
  • Neonatal Intensive Care Unit & High Risk Pregnancy;
  • Nephrology (Outpatient & Inpatient)
  • Oncology (Inpatient & Outpatient)
  • Psychiatry
  • Thromboembolism



Type: University-affiliated tertiary care centre

Number of beds: ~ 1200

Sites: Sunnybrook Bayview Campus and St. John’s Rehab Campus

Affiliation: University of Toronto




Jenna-Rose Melanson
Camille Angle


Daniela Fernandes
Linda (Xuan) Li


Siamak Badie
Danielle Porter


Melika Bozorgi Kiasaraei
Stephanie Rankin


Erin Bezzina
Vivian Bui


Nathan Ma
Jacqueline Brunton


Gloria Lau
Michael Wan

2014-2015 Alexandra Cooper
Melanie Cormier
2013-2014 Heather Bannerman
Monique Potvin
2012-2013 Julia Maslikowska
Francine Kwee
2011-2012 Julianne Kim
Kaila MacMillan
2010-2011 Laura Schultz
Diane Vella
2009-2010 Jennifer Do
Lesley Palmay
2008-2009 Marion Visser
Heather Moon
2007-2008 Francesca Le Piane
Lindsay van de Vijsel
2006-2007 Laura Tsang
Emily Ng
2005-2006 Lisa Zhu
Ravinder Minhas
2004-2005 Romina Marchesano
Jennifer Korman
2003-2004 Ami Kamdar
2002-2003 Samantha Yau
George Banman
2001-2002 Stephanie Ong
Sharon Yeung
1999-2000 Jennifer Drynan
1998-1999 Marisa Battistella
Natalie Schinners
1997-1998 Ann Tran
Garth Yelland
1996-1997 Katherine Nabzdyk
Angie Wong
1995-1996 Anne Nguyen
Angie Giotis
1994-1995 Sayeh Radpay
Tracey Lawson
1993-1994 Bill Perks
Mary Helen Keane
1992-1993 Taffik Choudhury
Chris Usaty
1991-1992 Todd Spencer
Nancy Fritsch
1990-1991 Debbie Kwan
Pina Morra
1989-1990 Carrie Fung
Benita Birkhans
1988-1989 Dave Gardiner
Fran Paradiso
1987-1988 Patti Madorin
Beth Geisberger
1986-1987 Sandra Lynch
Barb Gobis
Toni Karsikas
1985-1986 Diane Hindman
Sandra Knowles
Sharon Yamashita
John Dorsey
1984-1985 Camille Lemieux
Vida Stankus
Mary Vecchio
1983-1984 Cindy Girvan
Lynne Levesque
Jana Lazor
1982-1983 Leanne Krekorian
Judy Carter
Lee Dupuis
1981-1982 Carlo DeAngelis
Joanne Willoughby
1980-1981 Patti White
Teresa Fabian
1979-1980 Brian Hardy
Susan Fockler
1978-1979 David Edwards
Andrea Broostad
1977-1978 Scott Walker
1976-1977 Karen Adamson
Lauren (Flay) Charbonneau
1975-1976 William Cornish
Elizabeth Crichton
Velnis Muizniek
1974-1975 Donald Frazer
Pearl Isaac
1973-1974 Edward Winkle
Vera Smith